Eiteljorg Musuem Blog

Meet the Eiteljorg's 2015 Contemporary Art Fellows | Each to receive $25,000

by DeShong Perry-Smitherman, Eiteljorg public relations manager | Jan 09, 2015

Special show, opening this November will inspire, provoke and amaze
 with sculpture, installations and paintings.

Five premier Native American artists have earned the coveted title of 2015 Eiteljorg Contemporary Art Fellow. Their work will be honored with a $25,000 unrestricted grant and a major group exhibition which will open Nov. 14.

The 2015 Eiteljorg Fellows are:

• Invited Artist, Mario Martinez (Pascua Yaqui) – Painter (Brooklyn, NY)
 Mario Martinez
• Luzene Hill (Eastern Band of Cherokee) – Installation (Decatur, GA)
Luzene Hill
• Brenda Mallory (Cherokee) – Sculpture/Installation (Portland, OR)
• Da-ka-xeen Mehner (Tlingit) – Sculpture/Installation (Fairbanks, AK)
 Da-ka-xeen Mehner
• Holly Wilson (Delaware Tribe of Western Oklahoma/Cherokee) – Sculpture (Mustang, OK)
 Holly Wilson-HeadShot

Through this program the Eiteljorg supports Native contemporary artists and their legacy, insuring  the greater understanding and appreciation of indigenous people in the 21st century.

From Nov. 14, through Feb. 14, 2016, the Eiteljorg will showcase the works from this Fellowship class in a special exhibition. In conjunction with the exhibition, the museum will publish a catalogue of  scholarly articles and essays giving an in-depth look at each artist. A celebration and award presentation will bring the artists to Indianapolis and allow the public to interact with  them. The museum will also purchase more than $100,000 in art for its permanent collection from the Fellowship artists.

Launched in 1999, the biennial Fellowship program recognizes the work of emerging and established Native American and First Nations artists working with contemporary media and ideas. Since its inaugural class, nearly $1.25 million has been awarded to 50 artists. Selectors for the 2015 class included 2013 Fellow Julie Buffalohead (Ponca Tribue of Oklahoma), former contemporary art curator for the National Museum of the American Indian and 1999 Fellow Truman Lowe (Ho-Chunk) and independent art curator and consultant Mindy Taylor Ross, owner of Art Strategies, LLC and founding director of the Indianapolis Art’s Council’s Public Art Indianapolis.

“I have always said the heart of the Fellowship program is contained in the title “fellowship,” the coming together of people – the artists, scholars, curators, collectors and the public,” said John Vanausdall, Eiteljorg president and CEO. “The relationships artists develop while gathering in Indianapolis often last a lifetime.”

Since its inception, the Eiteljorg Fellowship added more than 180 representative works by 50 Native  artists to the Eiteljorg’s permanent collection. As a result, the museum is renowned for having the finest collection of Native contemporary art in the world.

1 Comment

  1. 1 Melvin M. Garza 24 Mar
    Great article!

        tahir islam


  1. RadEditor - HTML WYSIWYG Editor. MS Word-like content editing experience thanks to a rich set of formatting tools, dropdowns, dialogs, system modules and built-in spell-check.
    RadEditor's components - toolbar, content area, modes and modules
    Toolbar's wrapper 
    Content area wrapper
    RadEditor's bottom area: Design, Html and Preview modes, Statistics module and resize handle.
    It contains RadEditor's Modes/views (HTML, Design and Preview), Statistics and Resizer
    Editor Mode buttonsStatistics moduleEditor resizer
    RadEditor's Modules - special tools used to provide extra information such as Tag Inspector, Real Time HTML Viewer, Tag Properties and other.
© Eiteljorg Museum. All rights reserved.