Quest for the West

Quest for the West® Art Show And Sale

Doug Hyde,  Salmon Quest, 2014

Pink Portuguese Marble, 24 x 22 x 11 in.
Harrison Eiteljorg Purchase Award Winner

For a second year in a row, the Quest for the West® Art Show and Sale has generated over $1.1 million dollars for the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art and artists. The show, which ran the weekend of Sept 5 - 8,  attracted more than 300 collectors and art enthusiasts to the Eiteljorg to meet, honor and purchase the work of 50 of the most celebrated Western artists in the country. The sale officially closed Sunday, Oct. 5.

“To see such a huge number means so much for an organization like ours,” said John Vanausdall, Eiteljorg Museum president and CEO. “The fact that we’ve hit the million dollar mark two years in a row helps the museum solidify its place as a world-class institution, attracting matchless talent and an atmosphere that’s appealing to serious collectors.”

Quest for the West® is one of the Eiteljorg’s signature fundraisers. It is also the only Western art show and sale hosted by a major museum east of the Mississippi. Proceeds from Quest go toward the artists, operations and building the Eiteljorg’s world-class collection.

Also, renowned painter, Don Crowley, was also featured in a special exhibition of his work at the Eiteljorg for winning the Artist of Distinction Award at Quest in 2013. Quality of Character: The Art of Donald V. Crowley was on display through Sunday, Nov. 16.

2014 Quest award recipients

Artists awarded for excellence 
At the Quest for the West awards gala, artists were recognized for their work. Award categories and recipients are:

Harrison Eiteljorg Purchase Award, Presented by The Western Art Society
Quest artist Doug Hyde (Nez Perce Assiniboine, and Chippewa from Prescott, AZ) for his sculpture, Salmon Quest

Cyrus Dallin Award for Best Sculpture, Presented by Mr. and Mrs. R. Michael Leppert
Quest artist Doug Hyde for (Nez Perce Assiniboine, and Chippewa from Prescott, AZ) for his sculpture Midnight Dancers

Henry Farny Award for Best Painting, Presented by Jane and Steve Marmon
Quest artist Logan Maxwell Hagege (Van Nuys, CA) for Stands Alone

Victor Higgins Award of Distinction for best body of work in the show, Presented by Catherine and Robert Turner
Quest artist P.A. Nisbet (Santa Fe, NM)

Collector of Distinction Award
Presented by The Western Art Society Wayne Rumley of Tulsa, Oklahoma who will be honored with an exhibit highlighting his collection at the 10th anniversary Quest in 2015.

Patrons’ Choice Award, presented by The Booth Western Art Museum
Chosen by attending patrons
Quest artist Michael Dudash (Hayden, Idaho) for Giving Thanks for Fair Weather, Sweet Grass, and a Hot Supper

Artists’ Choice Award
Chosen by attending artists Quest artist Michael Dudash (Hayden, Idaho) for Giving Thanks for Fair Weather, Sweet Grass, and a Hot Supper

Find us on FacebookWatch our videos on YouTubeFollow us on InstagramFollow us on PinterestFind us on YelpShare
© Eiteljorg Museum. All rights reserved.